Morris Democrats pick candidates for county commissioner

Morris County Democrats selected TC McCourt, Alice Sharma and Judy Hernandez to run for county commissioner on the organizing line.

Democrats haven’t won a seat in all of Morris County since Douglas Romaine was elected landowner in the 1973 Watergate wave.

Two incumbent House members who represent portions of Morris County, Tom Malinowski (D-Ringoes) in the 7th and Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair) in the 11th, also received endorsements from the Morris County Democratic Committee.

McCourt, a member of the Dover Planning Board, is making his second run for County Commissioner. He ran in 2021 and got 26,950 votes behind GOP incumbent Stephen Shaw.

Sharma sits on the Mount Olive Library Board. Hernandez unsuccessfully ran for Parsippany township council in 2019 and 2021

Nine-term incumbent Douglas Cabana leads the Republican organizing line for county commissioner on a slate with former freeholder Christine Myers and Mendham Township Commissioner Sarah Neibart.

Incumbent Tom Mastrangelo, who lost the Morris GOP convention earlier this month, did not say if he would step out of line in the June 7 primary.

The deadline for filing is March 4.

Cabana finished first with 390 votes, followed by Myers (386) and Neibart (336). Mastrangelo finished fourth with 261 votes and Pequannock Mayor Melissa Florance-Lynch received 233 votes.

Mastrangelo and Florance-Lynch had been on a slate with Cabana. After her defeat in Congress, Florance-Lynch decided to seek re-election to her seat on the Pequannock council.

On election night 2020, with Joe Biden carrying Morris County — he was the first Democratic presidential candidate to win the Republican county since Lyndon Johnson in 1964 — it looked like Democrats might upend the landlord race.

Cary Amaro led incumbent Tayfun Selen that night and for a few days after that, but as the mail-in ballots were counted, Selen won the election by 12,758 votes, 52%-48%.

Romaine, the 30-year-old Democratic winner nearly 49 years ago, won one of Morris’ three free seats that year. Republicans Dean Gallo, Parsippany Council President and Peter Burkhardt, incumbent nominee and former mayor of Montville, finished first and second, respectively, and Romaine secured an approximate 600-vote lead over Freeholder James Plante.

Democrat Brendan Byrne won Morris County that year, and Democrats won one state Senate seat and three Assembly seats.

Romaine lost re-election in 197 by approximately 17,000 votes.

Plante remains the last Republican to lose a countywide race to Morris.

Comments are closed.