Johnston County Commissioner announces resignation

Johnston County Commissioner Larry Wood announced his resignation from the board of directors Monday evening. Commissioner Wood has said he will step down as an elected official within a week.

“I have an announcement to make with kind of mixed emotions. I would just like to let the public and this council know that from February 28, I plan to step down,” Commissioner Wood said at the end of Monday evening’s meeting.

“The reason is that my residence will change county. First of all, I would like to thank the inhabitants of this commune. I would also like to thank the staff for all the support and for answering a lot of questions for me.

“In regards to this council, my peers, I would like to thank you all for the many memories, the many ways that we have worked together to accomplish important things in this county and it has certainly been my privilege. And I just say thank you.

Several commissioners reacted to the surprise announcement.

“We thank you for your service. We will miss you but thank you for your service,” President Butch Lawter said.

Commissioner Ted Godwin said: “I have to say his heart was in the right place. He took an interest in Johnston County, in the citizens and particularly in the school system, and I think he was a very good commissioner. I enjoyed serving with him.

Commissioner Tony Braswell said: “I will miss him.

Commissioner Patrick Harris said, “It has truly been an honor to serve with you. Your passion and zeal for issues, and your willingness to put in the effort to try to make the right decisions and do the right things for people, is inspiring and we wish you the best. We will miss you.”

Commissioner Wood represents District 4. He was first elected in December 2016. His current term will expire in 2024. The Board of Commissioners has not announced how it will proceed to fill the unexpired term.

On October 25, 2021, former Commission Chairman Chad Stewart announced his resignation from the Board. Richard “Dickie” Braswell was sworn in on December 1, 2021 as a replacement.

Comments are closed.