Hays County Commissioners Court approves redistribution maps – Corridor News

Staff reports

Hays County Courthouse, Texas –Hays County Commissioners voted 3-2 to approve a new redistribution map. Commissioners Mark Jones, PCT. 2, Lon Shell, PCT. 3 and Walt Smith, PCT. 4, voted in favor of the card. Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe, PCT. 1, and Hays County Judge Ruben Becerra voted against the card. The vote took place at the regular meeting of November 9, 2021.

Following the release of the 2020 census data for Hays County, the perimeter lines for commissioners and the lines for justices of the peace and police officers had to be redesigned due to the rapid growth of the county.

A Redistribution Advisory Commission (RAC), made up of people appointed by the tribunal of commissioners as well as the presidents of the Democratic and Republican parties in Hays County, explored possible ways of redesigning the enclosure while adhering to the law on the 1965 voting right. The RAC offered several cards during the overall process. RAC members then submitted two proposed maps to the Court of Commissioners on November 2, 2021.

Two additional maps created by Commissioner Lon Shell, PCT. 3, were uploaded to the RAC website following the November 2 meeting. These maps, along with maps offered by RAC and public commentary gathered at community meetings in each compound, were all reviewed by the Tribunal of Commissioners before a final decision was made. Any redesigned precinct card had to comply with state and federal constitutional provisions for redistricting, the Voting Rights Act, and the Texas Guide to Redistricting.

The new police station map will be used for 10 years until the 2030 census. The JP and constable maps may be updated more frequently.

See the final approved Hays County Police Station map and the JP and Constable map on the county website: https://hayscountytx.com/hays-county-redistricting-advisory-commission-2021-2/.

Related Articles:

Comments are closed.